top of page

Do Vegans in Budapest Go Hungary?

So about two months ago I decided to try going vegan. Why, you may ask? Because... well... I wanted to see if I could. And, despite exercising varying levels of flexibility, I have to say it hasn't been all that bad - until, of course, I got to visit the beautiful city of Budapest in Hungary.

Budapest from above

The Danube River separates the cities of Buda and Pest

It was only a short 2 day visit, but wow, what an beautiful city! Everywhere I looked there was something incredible to see, from the Hungarian Parliament Building, Matthias Church, to the Fisherman's Bastion and Széchenyi Chain Bridge.

Hungarian Parliament Building

Hungarian Parliament Building

Széchenyi Chain Bridge

Széchenyi Chain Bridge

Aside from the architecture and natural hot springs, there was something else I was assured I would love about this gorgeous city: the food.

The food in Hungary is more than just your grandma's goulash - although I'm sure that's wonderful. Töltött Káposzta (meat-stuffed cabbage), palacsinta (meat-stuffed crepes), töltött paprika (meat-stuffed peppers) - meat-stuffed-meat (not sure if this is a thing, but wouldn't be surprised if it was).

Töltött Káposzta

Töltött káposzta - photo from this Hungarian cooking site.

But here's the thing: vegan. I was determined to stick with it as much as I possibly could, but being surrounded by the sights and smells of this food was not making it easy.

It took all of about 4 hours from touching down until I caved. My vegan lifestyle was going to have to go on hold for 2 days while I indulged myself in this meat-feast that was Hungarian cuisine. Sure, those of you who are true vegans out there may judge me, but enjoying hurka and kolbász sausages, rakott krumpli (potatoes layered with cream, eggs, sausage and cheese) and rántott sajt (fried cheese) - because FRIED. CHEESE. - all washed down with glasses of crisp, sweet Aszú Eszencia wine along the banks of the Danube made it all worth while.

Judge away.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page